Join aN Easter holiday strings course 
and concert with the Marryat Players

Why join us?

This is a very friendly and inspiring music course featuring professional music coaching along with music students who will support the players in each section of the orchestra throughout the course.  Participants should have completed Grade 5 or above.

Music making is interspersed with badminton in the garden and brownies in the kitchen. There will also be an opportunity to try out a potter's wheel with our resident potter Cherry Tewfik.

Participants will be sent music in advance, in order to prepare.

The next course will run from Sunday 8th to Thursday 12th April, 2018. 

 The 2015 orchestra rehearsing at Marryat Road with Leandro Silvera

The 2015 orchestra rehearsing at Marryat Road with Leandro Silvera



Fees are £230 which includes all tuition, music, food and drinks. Bursaries are available in cases of need.


Sunday 8th April to Thursday 12th April 2018 as follows:


Sunday to Wednesday from 10am to 5pm at 3 Marryat Road, Wimbledon Village SW19 5BB.

Thursday 12th April 2018 at 3pm
Dress rehearsal at King's College School, Wimbledon
Thursday 12th April 2018 at 7.30pm
Concert in the Great Hall of King’s College School, Southside, Wimbledon Common SW19 4TT conducted by Robert Max

Robert Max enjoys a varied career as solo cellist, conductor and chamber musician. An Associate of the Royal Academy of Music — he has taught at Junior Academy since 1992 — he is also an Honorary Professor of the Rachmaninov Institute in Tambov, Russia. As cellist of the Barbican Piano Trio for more than 25 years, he has performed on four continents and made several acclaimed recordings, most recently of works by Taneyev with guest violist James Boyd.

Robert is the principal cellist of the London Chamber Orchestra and conducts the Oxford Symphony Orchestra. He is the President of the North London Music Festival and coaches chamber music at MusicWorks.


Lennox Berkeley Serenade  

Mozart Divertimento in B-flat K137

Noah Max commissioned composition

Gordon Jacob Pro Corda Suite